Academics


The departments and centres of the Institute are responsible for the academic activities which include Teaching and Research.

The courses of study are organized on semester programs and each semester provides for a minimum of seventy instructional days. The medium of instruction is English. Students are evaluated on a continuous basis throughout the semester. Evaluation is done by the faculty.

The rigors of academic study at each level are balanced with a number of other related activities which include co-curricular activities. Special lectures on varied topic of academic relevance are held throughout the year.

The academic atmosphere at the Institute is a rare blend of modern day technical skills and the traditional emphasis on imparting knowledge.


2016 Academic Year

Even Semester

Date Event/Deadline
Friday, January 01, 2016 New Year Day Holiday
Sunday, January 03, 2016 Re-opening of Hostels
Monday, January 04, 2016 Starting of Classes of 2nd. 4th, 6th and 8th Semesters
Wednesday-Saturday, January 13-16, 2016 Magh Bihu Holidays
Monday, January 26, 2016 Republic Day Holiday
Tuesday, February 12, 2016 Republic Day Holiday
Monday, March 07, 2016 Sivaratri Holiday
Monday-Tuesday, March 14-22, 2016 (Tentative) ASTU Mid Semester Examinations
Wednesday-Thursday, March 23-24, 2016 Holi Festival Holidays
Friday, March 25, 2016 Good Friday Holidays
Wednessday-Saturday, April 13-16, 2016 Bohag Bihu Holidays
Saturday, May 07, 2016 (Tentative) Date of Last Class for 8th Semesters
Saturday, May 14, 2016 (Tentative) Date of Last Class for 2nd, 4th & 6th Semesters
Wednessday, May 25, 2016 (Tentative) Starting of GU and ASTU Examinations for 2nd, 4th, 6th and 8th Semesters1
Wednesday-Saturday, June 22-July 23, 2016 Semester Break for 2nd, 4th & 6th Semester Students
Wednesday-Saturday, June 22-July 21, 2016 Summer Vacation for Teaching Faculty & Teaching Staff
Wednesday, July 06, 2016 Idul-FitrHoliday
Monday, July 25, 2016 Start of the new Academic Session 2015-2016
Date of First Class for 3rd & 5th Semesters
Sunday, July 31, 2016 Reporting and Orientation Programme of 1st Semester Students
Monday, August 01, 2016 Date of First Class for 1st Semesters

1 Exact dates will be notified by Gauhati University and ASTU